ATC Recommendations?

Matt Goin

TVWBB Super Fan
Just logged back on here after a few years:coolkettle:

I recall back around 2003 or 2004 some of your beta testing the GURU's. I am sure they have come a long way. I have "never" needed an ATC. However, I did a small cook on Easter 13.5# brisket (midnight cook) followed by a Honey Baked ham ( freebie) everything was perfect, brisket cooked a little faster than i thought ( it usually does) so I was thinking the Guru that you can monitor via wifi would be a cool gadget. ( i.e. check the temps while at Mass on Easter Sunday ). I already use a Thermoworks temp monitor that uses the 2 k-probes.

I tried to search as best I could. Any feedback or recommendations would be helpful. Not a necessity, but I love BBQ/baking/cooking gadgets --- just helping the economy!

The forum is not the same as it used to be back in the early 2000's !!! Lots of new guys with lots of input!

#SendingSmokeSignals from FLORIDA!:wsm22:

I am new to ATC's as well. I am trying to decide between the QMaster Senior and the BBQ Guru DigiQ DX2. Always have to have more gadgets and this to add to my WSM.

Take a look at the HeatMeter forum on this site. I have built a few and they work great. Makes my cooks much easier

Matt "welcome back to the forum"!

I can see from your signature You use a WSM.
I have tryed both the GURU WIFI and the DX2.
Due the fact I work and live in the same building I stopped using the WIFI because the WSM is so steady that it acts like an electric smoker.
No need to control the cooking temp.

Hello! I have been off the site for a couple of years, but now back. I have been smoking with the original Stoker WIFI for 2+ years and love it. I start brisket or pork butt at 6pm or so and it keeps the smoker at 225 all night...I barely have to check it. At 7 or 8am I take the meat off the grill, wrap it in foil, and put in a 200* oven for a couple of hours or so. I have never had a problem...perfect every time.