Kalua Pig Wood Question

Darrell O

TVWBB Fan
We are having a Luau this weekend and I would like to make Kalua Pig. I am following a Steven Raichlen recipe. Mr. Raichlen calls for wrapping a pork shoulder in banana leaves with salt, pepper, onion, ginger, garlic, and liquid smoke. I would prefer not to use liquid smoke and I would like to substitute mesquite. Can anyone recommend a good amount of mesquite for Kalua Pig?

Thanks,
Oak

I would recomend using either cherry, maple, hickory, or apple personally and would use 5 or 6 chunks for an average size butt. For Mesquite I would go with probably 3 chunks.

Clark

Aloha... I have been doing kalua pig in an imu for over 50 years both in HI, where I was born and raised, and also here in CA and WA. I do it the traditional way in the imu (underground pit) using lava rocks. Here in WA I use alder and maple to heat up the rocks and I season the whole hog with Hawaiian sea salt.

Are you planning to do it in a bbq pit?

Be glad to answer any questions...

joe

Hmmmm ...

If it's wrapped in banana leaves, does it really make a difference what wood is used?

BTW, Liquid Smoke does come in Mesquite flavor.

And it's horrid - just like the hickory version. Not a fan of mesquite for smoking, myself - nice for grilling though. If you want to add some smoke flavor directly use smoked paprika.

Kalua pig is not typically seasoned with much more than salt, as Joe notes. (I find it too bland for my taste, and prefer to add aromatics - onion, garlic and ginger and an herb sprig or two.)