Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 129

Thread: The LinkMeter Snapshot and YOU

  1. #21
    TVWBB Guru Steve_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,019
    Quote Originally Posted by NickH82 View Post
    No they are blank.

    HeaterMeter Information
    Version 20140630B
    You need to update your HM firmware.


  2. #22
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_M View Post
    You need to update your HM firmware.
    Thx, did that again now but noticed an error:

    Connecting to capnbry.net (71.100.233.140:80)

    hm.hex 65% |******************** | 47310 0:00:00 ETA
    hm.hex 100% |*******************************| 67722 0:00:00 ETA
    Stopping LinkMeter OK

    LinkMeter platform is BCM2708
    AVR fuses ERROR

    Starting LinkMeter

    Any idea?

  3. #23
    TVWBB Honor Circle Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,548
    EDIT: Ah that's why it didn't get the latest firmware. You've got a problem somewhere in the SPI communication between your HeaterMeter and the Pi. Check these connections with a multimeter for continuity:
    Last edited by Bryan Mayland; 09-13-2015 at 06:19 AM.

  4. #24
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    22
    I just checked these connections,but there is zero resistance between them.. Anything else I could check?

  5. #25
    TVWBB Diamond Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    3,543
    It's always worth a try to reseat the rPi, the SD Card and the ATMega chip in its socket... Only takes a second and I have seen it remedy strange issues.
    I created the Roto Damper, RD3, HMv4.2 sliding back case, "air-burner" and the "ping-pong" valve in my quest for delicious "set and forget" BBQ.

  6. #26
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by RalphTrimble View Post
    It's always worth a try to reseat the rPi, the SD Card and the ATMega chip in its socket... Only takes a second and I have seen it remedy strange issues.
    No luck either

  7. #27
    TVWBB Honor Circle Bryan Mayland's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    4,548
    I don't know! Clearly it worked one time, enough to flash the first image. You try maybe slowing down the bitrate (which is what it does on the first upload because the default clock is very slow). SSH in and type this
    Code:
    insmod spidev
    insmod spi-bcm2708
    hmdude -v -v -b 128 -P/dev/spidev0.0 -U/lib/firmware/hm.hex
    The first two might say "file exists" but that is ok.

  8. #28
    TVWBB Diamond Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    midwest
    Posts
    3,543
    I was gonna ask if this was the exact same hardware that was in place when this ATMega was flashed the first time?.....
    I created the Roto Damper, RD3, HMv4.2 sliding back case, "air-burner" and the "ping-pong" valve in my quest for delicious "set and forget" BBQ.

  9. #29
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryan Mayland View Post
    I don't know! Clearly it worked one time, enough to flash the first image. You try maybe slowing down the bitrate (which is what it does on the first upload because the default clock is very slow). SSH in and type this
    Code:
    insmod spidev
    insmod spi-bcm2708
    hmdude -v -v -b 128 -P/dev/spidev0.0 -U/lib/firmware/hm.hex
    The first two might say "file exists" but that is ok.
    root@heatermeter:~# hmdude -v -v -b 128 -P/dev/spidev0.0 -U/lib/firmware/hm.hex
    hmdude: compiled on Sep 8 2015 at 10:00:37
    Using port: /dev/spidev0.0
    Loading ihex file: "/lib/firmware/hm.hex" (24072 bytes)
    SPI speed: 128 KHz
    Can't set AVR programming mode (0x00)


    Hardware didn't change since first install...

    I also found something in another thread, to run hmdude -b 128 -P/dev/spidev0.0

    root@heatermeter:~# cat /dev/ttyAMA0
    $HMSU,80,U,283.6,U,U,0,0,0*4F
    $HMSU,80,U,283.6,U,U,0,0,0*4F
    $HMAR,0,1,0,0,0,1*16
    $HMSU,80,U,283.3,U,U,0,0,0*4A
    $HMSU,80,U,283.3,U,U,0,0,0*4A
    $HMSU,80,U,282.9,U,U,0,0,0*41
    $HMSU,80,U,282.9,U,U,0,0,0*41
    $HMAR,0,1,0,0,0,1*16
    $HMSU,80,U,282.9,U,U,0,0,0*41
    $HMSU,80,U,282.6,U,U,0,0,0*4E
    $HMSU,80,U,282.6,U,U,0,0,0*4E
    $HMSU,80,U,282.3,U,U,0,0,0*4B
    $HMAR,0,1,0,0,0,1*16
    $HMSU,80,U,282.3,U,U,0,0,0*4B
    $HMSU,80,U,282.0,U,U,0,0,0*48
    $HMSU,80,U,281.9,U,U,0,0,0*42
    $HMSU,80,U,281.9,U,U,0,0,0*42
    $HMAR,0,1,0,0,1,1*17
    $HMSU,80,U,281.6,U,U,0,0,0*4D
    $HMSU,80,U,281.6,U,U,0,0,0*4D
    $HMSU,80,U,281.3,U,U,0,0,0*48
    $HMSU,80,U,281.3,U,U,0,0,0*48
    $HMAR,0,1,0,0,0,1*16
    $HMSU,80,U,281.1,U,U,0,0,0*4A
    $HMSU,80,U,281.0,U,U,0,0,0*4B
    $HMSU,80,U,281.0,U,U,0,0,0*4B
    $HMSU,80,U,280.6,U,U,0,0,0*4C
    $HMAR,0,1,0,0,0,1*16
    $HMSU,80,U,280.6,U,U,0,0,0*4C
    $HMSU,80,U,280.3,U,U,0,0,0*49
    $HMSU,80,U,280.3,U,U,0,0,0*49

    $UCID,HeaterMeter,20140630B*3F
    $HMSU,80,U,278.4,U,U,0,0,0*49
    $HMAR,0,0,0,0,0,1*17
    $HMSU,80,U,281.0,U,U,0,0,0*4B
    $HMSU,80,U,280.0,U,U,0,0,0*4A
    $HMSU,80,U,279.9,U,U,0,0,0*45


    The rPI is type B version 2 with 512MB ram.
    Last edited by NickH82; 09-14-2015 at 11:43 AM.

  10. #30
    TVWBB Guru Steve_M's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    2,019
    One of my RasPis exhibits this behaviour. I can do everything with the heatermeter but run a code upgrade on the atmega.

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •