Such a basic question - From Toronto - Where do I begin?

James Harvey

TVWBB Pro
As a newbie, how do I get into comps understanding that my first few should be closer to home?

Even better question: What does an accomplished team take home in winnings per season?

Hi James,

First off... Wishing You and Your Team, BBQ Excellence !!! ( In KCBS speak, that means I'm wishing you all 9's.. the highest you can get in KCBS)

Before going any further, let me ask this... Where do you plan on competing, Canada or US or a combination ?

Bob

Hi Bob,

As a newbie, I need to keep my job. I'm wondering how to get into weekend comps within a few hours of Toronto, Canada or the northern US. Again, as a newbie, I'm only running 2 WSM's that require observance even with my Stoker kit.

Hi James,

Totally understand ! I believe the vast majority need to keep their day jobs too, this includes those doing the pro contests ! Very few will make a living at it... Very Few !!!

Getting your feet wet in the amateur group can be a good route. Let's you get used to competing while keeping the costs manageable. FYI, for a pro KCBS contest down in our area, it's not unusual for a team to spend $800 - $1,000 per contest. Like I mentioned above... Very few will make a living at it. For those that are not in that group, it's an enjoyable, but expensive Hobby.

Find a BBQ association / society / club located in your area for starters. Get to know the people involved. Most all team, especially those in the pro group, are generally helpful of new teams.

KCBS list all Pro Contests... for 2015, that list is here

Bob

Bob gives you some very good advice (he always does - darn him for being so smart),