Food Photography Tips and Techniques *****

Jose Suro

TVWBB All-Star
Hi All,

Chris and I have been swapping PMs and we think that it would be a good idea to start a thread where we all can share Food Photography tips and techniques. We all want our food to look its best don’t we?

I’m a photographer and although from that standpoint I have a lot to contribute, I am not a “Food Photographer”. Food Photography is a whole different animal for a landscape photographer like me and so I’m also learning as I go.

I will contribute a lot from my experience in topics ranging from "Light, Light, it’s the Light", to "Why a tripod", focus, presentation, best practices, and more.

Chris and I are hoping that you can share your tips and techniques for food photography on this thread as well. Your contributions will be greatly appreciated.

Below you will find my first post, "How to spend $4.00 and greatly improve your grill photography" .

All the Best,

Jose

How to greatly improve your grill photography for just $4.00

Hi all,

For my first post I’ll share one of my tricks for making food look great on the grill. When grilling or smoking we are outside. Lets say you have the perfect clear and sunny day for grilling, the food looks great and you want to take a picture of the food on the grill.

You take the picture and later bring the picture into the computer and it doesn’t look as good as you remembered it. Why? Direct sunlight is not very flattering on most subjects, food included. Photography is all about light, light, light. Direct sunlight creates harsh shadows and blown highlights for the camera. Your eyes are different and somewhat compensate for that.

So, you could wait until it’s cloudy to take the picture but there is an easier way. Get one of these:

i-scnnzXT-L.jpg

You can get one here for $4.00!
Adorama 12" Portable Reflector White / Translucent