Temperature ranges and control on a Kettle

David

TVWBB Pro
For the first time ever, I'm using a kettle, as all my previous years were with a box type grill and wondered how much coal etc. to use in the kettle. I fired it up with two baskets nearly full of coal to do the rec. first burn with all vents fully open an the temp ran up to about 600 where I started playing with the temp. With the bottom vents fully shut down, top open it would not go below 400. I'm sure with two full baskets I had too much fully lit charcoal to get it back down easily. Even fully shut down it took a long time to quit burning.

The question is directed toward indirect cooking as for direct I'll open it way up. I see the recommendations in the weber owners manual, but then I don't follow that for the wsm, I figure there's a better method. So if I wish to smoke or low cook how much charcoal and what method should I play with to begin. By the way, this is a 22" OTP grill. Does the minion method work here like the WSM with just a few lite coals in the basket, one or two baskets? Throw in any suggestion you might have. I'm thinking that the kettle will be use for shorter cooks up to the 2-3 hr range, the "set it up and leave it alone WSM" for bigger jobs.
-
Second question, since the bottom vent control is also used to assist the clean-up of ashes, does anyone put a mark on the vent handle to mark where open an closed are or just learn via practice?...............................d

The minion will definitely work. To slow cook/smoke one rack of ribs I bank the coals on one side (some use fire bricks as a barrier), and I add 1/3 chimney of lit on the unlit pile, and place the ribs on the opposite side from the fire. I barely crack the bottom vent and have the top vent mostly open but may slightly close it where most of the vent hole is open.