Attempting first ribs tomorrow - Chris Lilly Memphis Dry ribs

Laura D

TVWBB Fan
Dear Everyone - it's me, Laura. I am testing out my Smokenator tomorrow for the first time, and decided to throw some ribs on there as well (never did ribs before, first time, YEAH! Here goes!).

I am going to do Chris Lilly's Memphis Dry ribs recipe. I have his wonderful BBQ book but here is the recipe online -

http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/30686...ig-bob-gibsons-memphis-dry-ribs/#.UImgPmk-vI0

I am a confident griller and feel pretty saavy about temp control - we'll see because I've never used the Smokenator before and this will be one of my longer cooks.

Any advice for any contingencies? Like, do ribs stall? How long should I let them sit out before I put them in? Do they need to rest after? If things aren't going well, should I foil and stick them in the oven and if so at what temp?

I'm going to read up more here in the forum and stick my nose in my BBQ books so I'm prepared (and also have been perusing amazingribs.com). Thanks in advance for any advice!

Laura

Oh and rib rack - yay, nay? I've got two racks of ribs, they will probably fit side by side, or I could see how they do in the Weber rib rack.

Laura

I haven't used a smokenator but I assume you'll probably want to rotate the meat every hour or so whether or not you use a rib rack or lay them flat. As for the rest of your questions (foil, set out ahead of time, etc), do what you do, I'd just say to watch for the meat to pullback from the ends of the bones to make sure they're done. I'm sure they'll turn out great ;)

Laura, as Clint mentioned, pull-back of the meat so that the bone potrudes a half inch or more is the first sign that ribs are getting close to being done. Then you start checking them by picking the slab up with tongs. If they drape almost 90 degrees and you see the meat starting to tear, they're done.