Chris Lilly's Pork Shoulder vs. Mr. Brown

John_H

TVWBB Member
I was curious if there is anyone out there that has tried both of these recipe's and could offer a comparison. I've prepared the Mr. Brown recipe and liked it. I'm fairly new to smoking and am interested in branching out and trying a new butt recipe. Is Chris Lilly's as good as Mr Brown? Other Butt suggestions?

i thought both were good. Hard to ruin a shoulder. I think they r great with no rub and just smoke for flavoring. Try it once you might be suprised.

So far, I have used the following (3) recipes on butts:

1. Mr. Brown
2. Chris Lilly's
3. Alton Brown (brined with salt & molasses)

Mr. Brown was a bit "too peppery" for some guests tastes, but some people liked it a lot.

The Chris Lilly recipe is consistently a hit. The bark that you get on this one is a combination of crusty / savory / sweet. If you want to "heat it up" - you can always add some pepper-head-oriented sauce on a sandwich.

The Alton Brown recipe was also good, but I've only done it once.

Sometime, if you're cooking for a largish group - try both at once, and see what you and your guests prefer.

If you like to make pulled pork somewhat frequently, it's good to be able to use different twists from time-to-time.

Hope this helps

Can't say I like any of the above. I much prefer rubs with a breadth and depth of flavor. Mr Brown is essentially pepper. The other ingredients in it offer nothing. CL's is mostly sweet - and quite flat.

Not a fan of either. Tried each of them once a while back and have never really been incented to try them again after that. Same as with the one from the Neeley's - too much dependence on paprika and not much else to it IMHO.

I've done the Chris Lilly 5 or 6 times to rave reviews and everyone within range of my cooker likes it. I tried the Mr. Brown's once and it was too peppery for my crew.