Flat Damper 2.0

Benjamin Thibault

TVWBB Member
Hi Guys,

It's been quite some time since I made my original Flat Damper. I've been running it for a few years now on my PBC with no fan. Works like a champ. The Shapeways 3D laser sintered Alumide has held up very well.

About a year ago, I changed jobs. At my new job I have access to a significantly larger selection of metal working equipment, as well as scrap material I can utilize for free. A few months ago I decided to learn Solid Works. What better way to utilize this stuff than smoker parts! So, I redesigned the Flat Damper and milled it. The body is made out of 316 Stainless, and the top sliding door and stop are made from Nickel Aluminum Bronze (because we had some, and I thought it would be a cool contrast). I'm by no means a machining expert. Will never call myself one. Made plenty of mistakes along the way and had to modify or change plans accordingly.

I used a HiTec HS85BB Servo for this. I used this instead of the normal TowerPro servo because I couldn't find a servo mount gear that will fit the SG90/MG90 servos.

I used this 54 tooth gear.
And this gear rack.
This combination gives the door around 50mm of travel with the rotation of the servo. So I set the pulse width of the servo to the widest band that I could get it to, and then had the servo pull the gear in. Adjusted the opening PW to where it needed to be for 40mm of opening.

The RJ45 connector is From L-Com.

The opening is designed around a 40x40mm fan, just as the original. I don't plan on using a fan with it, but I left myself the option. I also added 3 small drilled holes directly into the opening. This way if HM is ever calling for 0% opening, the fire will never be completely starved of air. They're very small, but if they prove to be too much I can always tap and plug some or all of them.