Power Supply

KennyDado

TVWBB Member
I've ordered and been receiving parts for a new hm build and got my power supply in today. This will be a more standard build, my other build is a sans-rpi hack job so my following issue hadn't come up.

I ordered this 12v/1a switching supply off adafruit: https://www.adafruit.com/product/798

It occurred to me as I was opening the packages that I didn't really spec this out thoroughly. I went back to the wiki and found it links to this supply on mouser: https://www.mouser.com/ProductDetai...00virtualkey55310000virtualkey553-WSU120-1000

My question is does anyone have any experience with the adafruit supply?

It'll be a week or so before I'll have my hm put together for testing/cooking, if I should go ahead and order a different power supply it would be nice to know now.

Thanks for any help!

I have no experience with the adafruit supply, but if you plan on using a servo damper I suggest you look at a 2A power supply. In theory 1A should be enough, but in practice many people have proven that a lot of 1A supplies will brown out.

Good to know, I'll pick up a 2A supply. In the mean time the 1a does power up the HM without the servo/blower attached yet.

I sent Bryan's case design off to my local library to have it printed up and boy did they screw it up!

hnvLhaM.jpg

I asked if they could give it another shot... If that doesn't work out I also spotted a laser cutter in the library that I might have to learn to use.

Last edited:
Wowie, how do they mess up a flat square like that!? Whichever nerd set up the printer there must have left town for a bit and everyone else is just <shrug>

Wowie, how do they mess up a flat square like that!? Whichever nerd set up the printer there must have left town for a bit and everyone else is just <shrug>