My first BBQ with the Weber Smokey Mountain

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

My wife and I invited her family over this past weekend for a cookout. We had a total of 6 "eaters." We decided that I would smoke baby back pork ribs.

The week leading up to the cookout, I spent obtaining my wood, making the rub (BRITU), ordering my Weber, and buying the meat.

I have a friend who was able to get me some oak and cherry chunks, I had to trade him the chunks for lunch. Not a bad trade considering the amount of wood that he brought me.

I ordered my Weber on Tuesday at a local hardware store and they promised that it would be in the following Friday.

On Wednesday I made the mistake of purchasing my meat. I have little experience in purchasing meat and was afraid that if I waited to till Friday I would not be able to find what I was looking for. Well I purchased 3 slabs of ribs weighing about about 1 3/4 #'s apiece. They looked excellent and I wrapped the up and put them in the fridge. Come time to take the ribs out of the fridge on Saturday, they had become rotten. They smelled terrible and looked kind of green. Needles to say, I threw them away and frantically begain searching for a new place to purchase some ribs. Luckily, I found them at a meat market not too far from my house. Come to find out, the butcher told me that they always have ribs in and I wouldn't have any trouble finding them there in the future. Lesson learned.

My smoker came in as planned on Friday and I assembled it in only a few minutes. Piece of cake. I woke up Saturday morning and begain prepairing for the smoking session. Other than the earlier mentioned mishap, things went very well.