Pork Steak with grilled veggies

Mike Coffman

TVWBB Olympian
One thing I have learned about on this fabulous board is that there is always something new I want to try. And I have to add that with so many great cooks here it has made me a much better cook by learning and listening on how they do certain foods and I try to emulate that. So this is my first attempt at pork steak.

DSC_2777r.jpg

Since I work at a military commissary I had the meat department cut me 2 pork steaks about 1 3/4 inch thick. These are two monster steaks!

DSC_2790r.jpg

I salted them and then seasoned them with Penzeys 3000.

DSC_2791r.jpg

I put them direct for about 2 minutes each side and then went indirect. I used a few chunks of apple wood for the smoke.

DSC_2800r.jpg

Decided that squash would be on the menu tonight, so marinated some summer and zuchinni squash with vidalia onion vinaigrette and seasoned them with arizona dreaming.

DSC_2803r.jpg

Pork steaks were pulled when they were probe tender in the thickest part, which was 151 on my thermapen. Put a tent foil over them while the veggies cooked.

DSC_2809r.jpg

Squash onto the grill.

DSC_2816r.jpg

Picked up some large portabella mushrooms. Coated them with olive oil and seasoned with southern delight rub.

DSC_2821r.jpg

Squash off the grill.

DSC_2824r.jpg

Mushrooms onto the grill.

DSC_2827r.jpg

Mushrooms off the grill.

DSC_2834r.jpg

Pork steaks were so big, we just cut one in half and put on both plates. Since my wife and I both work during the week the extra food I do on the weekends is vacuum packed and available for quick meals. Here is plate #1.

DSC_2836r.jpg

Plate #2.