Venison Sausage WSM

Ryan Sura

Hi guys,

I'm new to smoking and new to the forum. I hoping to make my own venison sausage this spring for the first time. I received a WSM 18.5" for Christmas, and am getting excited to use it. Just wondering if you guys have any recipes or processes that you could share for making venison sausage on the WSM.

Thanks!

Ryan

I actually just helped a friend make some. I was just part of the grinding/stuffing session. I think he went on to smoke some of it.

Some tips they may or may not help:

trim your meat fairly well. We did this and didn't have much issue during grinding, however I just talked to a friend that complained that the sinew often clogged his blade so they upgraded to a big, hobart grinder that eats up the sinew (my guess is he just needed his blades sharpened).

You are going to need to mix in pork back fat, and possibly some pork, if the taste of venison is too strong for you. Venison is too lean to make into a sausage on its own.

chop up the venison and back fat and grind them together. We ground them separately, and it was impossible to mix them together. We ended up regrinding it all again to get a uniform mix.

I'm hoping he saved me some. I'll pick his brains when we meet up and report back.

good luck!

Here's a few options for you
icon_wink.gif

Venison Breakfast Sausage

2 lbs. venison 1/2 lb. bacon 1 tsp. salt 1 tsp. pepper 1/2 tsp. sage

Chop the bacon and dice the venison, then mix in the salt, pepper, and sage. Refrigerate the mixture for a few hours before use. Shape the mixture into thin patties. Pour a little oil into a skillet or onto a grid- dle and heat to medium high. Grill the patties for a few minutes on each side.

Venison Old Time Sausage

8 lbs. venison with some fat pork 3 Tbsp. sea salt (see note) 2 Tbsp. black pepper 2 Tbsp. sage