Best Dang Steak Technique i have found

G

I forgot how i found this technique but ive tried it twice and it makes the best dang steak. Here is the blog entry for the technique:
http://steamykitchen.com/blog/...o-gucci-prime-steaks

I cooked a nice thick strip steak tonight over charcoal with a little mesquite wood added to a perfect medium-rare and wow.
icon_biggrin.gif

I ate it with chicken enchiladas with a poblano cream sauce (thanks to Kevin Kruger for the cookbook recommendation) from the following cookbook:
http://www.amazon.com/Cocina-F...341/thevirtualweberb

Best Dinner I think ive had in a long time. Anyone every try a quick salt cure like this on steak? If you haven't you got to try it....it seems to simple to work but i'm a believer
icon_smile.gif

Brent:

I've been using the salt technique for about 8 months now, and I have to say I agree with you.

I have yet to find another technique that produces a better flavor to my tastebuds.

Originally posted by Brent W.:<snip>Best Dinner I think ive had in a long time. Anyone every try a quick salt cure like this on steak? If you haven't you got to try it....it seems to simple to work but i'm a believer
icon_smile.gif

Heavy salt & pepper, sometimes use garlic salt instead & heavy pepper. High heat (I'm high elevation) & perfect rare.

The steak in the pic in link 1 looked like it was cooked over a 1000+F flame for ~3 minutes per side - burnt & cold. I like it over a ~600F flame for 7 or 8 minutes per side... charred but moist outside, warm red/blood red inside. mmmmm

OT: I cooked some kick a55 burgers tonight - 2nd time I've tried the sweet potatos that Larry W likes to cook.. OMG they're good. Tried both sweet potatos & yams, both work for me. Ribs/burgers are going on this weekend. Firing up the WSM after a long rest.

Don't forget your smoke wood while grilling.