Peruvian purple potatoes

Lance

TVWBB Super Fan
I just bought two pounds of Peruvian purple potatoes at the farmers' market today. The specific variety is purple majesty. I have never used purple potatoes before. I looked on the internet and didn't find any real good recipes other than mashing them. Does anyone have a great recipe highlighting these potatoes?
Lance

Take a look on Epicurious -

We tried a really easy recipe where you take smallish potatoes of several kinds, quarter or halve them, toss them in a bowl with some olive oil & herbs, them bake/roast them on a shallow (jelly-roll) pan.

Looked impressive for entertaining - I think we had a mix of the purple ones, red russets, and baby yukon golds.

If they're the ones that I am thinking of (about the size of x-large eggs), then you should be able to do anything with them that you would do with other "salad" potatoes.

Ron,
Thanks for the tip. I found a recipe on the food network. We roasted them in olive oil and some other spices. They were great. I had these huge expectations and was slightly disappointed. The purple potatoes tasted just like any other potato. I guess I expected something more. The purple color was pretty cool. I am definitely going to try these again.
Lance

They taste the same, the blue corn vs. regular corn, or purple broccoli vs. green. That said, they make a nice presentation.

Kevin,
It is a nice presentation. Surprisingly my kids didn't really like that they were a different color. I think the purple was a little to weird. The day after the kids talked about wanting to try the purple potatoes. Thanks for the info about the blue corn. I had wondered since Bobby Flay always seems to be using it.
Lance

for something a little different, try the same recipe/technique but with a mixture of other roots like parsnips, turnips, beets, etc.