California > San Diego: Phil's BBQ

Tim L.

TVWBB Pro
http://www.philsbbq.net/

Just wondering what people think who have been to this place. I haven't been there since they moved from their original location in Mission Hills. Now they have this huge restaurant down on Sports Arena and the line is always wrapped around the building. When I did go there I got the pulled pork sandwiches and wasn't that impressed. But that was 4 years ago. But then again, 4 years ago I hadn't had as much 'que as I've had now. Hmmm...makes me wonder.

Anyhow, I'm going tomorrow and getting the full rack of babybacks (12 or so pieces they say) so I'll give a report.

Thanks!

Well, not very impressed at all. The facility itself is very nice, a very comfortable setting. So good for a family outing. But I was there for the 'que, not the atmosphere.

Got a full slab of baby backs. I'm pretty new to rib-eating (yeah, late starter), so no "expert", but here's what I didn't like:

-WAY way way too much sauce. They were completely drenched in sauce. IMO, sauce should compliment the meat, not dominate it.

-Didn't like the sauce, which of course made it even worse that they drenched the ribs with it. Too tangy, and had the consistency of sweet & sour sauce. Not a fan at all.

-Even without the sauce, the ribs themselves weren't that great.

I give it 2.5 pig ears out of 5.

...still waiting for good bbq in San Diego. Guess I'll just have to make it!

Their new location is close to where I work and have eaten their BBQ quite a few times and I am not impressed at all with their food. What is impressive is the amount of people that go to that place. Either I'm missing something or people in San Diego don't know what good barbecued meat is suppose to taste like.

Not that I needed another to validate my opinion, but...

THANK YOU!!!!