J. A. Henckle knives

Phil Perrin

TVWBB Hall of Fame
There has been a lot of discussion about knives in this section. What do you guys think about Henckle knives? There are several sets I can get as an award through work. I looked at their website,but,no surprise,none of the sets I can get are on their site. Any opinion/info is always appreciated and thanks in advance for your help.

I got a set for x mas and love them.The block came with steak knives which I allready have.I would go with a set without and get more or better quality knives.

I have one of their paring knives given to me as a gift so not much experience with their other items. The knife has a nice balance and feel in my hand.

I have a set and I really like them. I seem to remember a thread about them and some saying there were sets they offer you want to stay away from. I'll try and find it.

I've got a set of 4 Stars that I received as a Christmas gift from my parents when I graduated from College in 1987. Still use them and love them. The fit in the hand, the "heft" and balance are great for my personal preference. When I'm at a neighbor or friends house and use their equipment I truly notice a difference.

Quality knives.

Try to find a set on the hoof so you can hold them and faux-cut with them. You want to be sure they feel good in your hand.

Henckels markets many different series of knives. Some are still made in Germany, others in Spain, China, etc. There is a wide range of quality levels and it's hard to tell them apart. Some are top notch, others merely average.

Personal preference plays a big part as well. My wife likes her moderately priced Henckels chef knife better than our fancy Japanese knife, which most people would say is of much higher quality.