Cast Iron Grate extra work?

Clay Cope

TVWBB Fan
I had a quick question for anyone with the cast iron grates for the Weber grills. I'm considering (actually planning) purchasing the cast iron grates for my Weber grill but had a quick question. Do you find it difficult or a pain to keep yours clean and oiled? Just hoping to get a quick reality check on how much extra effort the cast iron grates will actually be.

I have been using cast iron on one of my weber grills for three years and have not noticed any extra effort. The little bit of oil I rub on the grate before putting the food on seems to protect the cast iron.

No problems here either. But the one thing I do recommend is to leave the grates dirty when you're done cooking with them. Why? Because it will keep them from building surface rust. Then when you're ready to cook, heat up the grill, burn off the gunk, oil and cook. Good as new!

The thing holding me back from purchasing the grates, is the added step of removing the grates to get to the charcoal grate. That seems like a PITA. Right now I use a Lodge Logic cast iron grill grate that I set on top of the regular grill grate whenever I want grill marks, which is usually just hamburgers and steaks.

The CIGs are a great product and most who have em like em ..... all things are relative, for me they're a PITA. I use the Performers gas lighter to ignite chimneys of charcoal for the Performer, the 18 & 22 WSMs, Smokey Joe, etc. ..as a result the grate is handled frequently; PITA .... the stock Weber grate is a snap by comparison, low maintainence & will yield darn good grill marks too ... just me..others with different techniques seem to dig em
icon_wink.gif

Tell us how you really feel Rondo!
icon_biggrin.gif

I gotta admit though that for as nice as they seem to be, they do appear they could be a PITA. I still want some though ... just because.
icon_rolleyes.gif