Why is a WSM so much $$$?

Chuck Yeager

Hello all. First post here. LIttle background on me. I've been making Q for about 8 years, maybe 10. I have outgrown my Cookshack 008 - or at least I need to supplement it on occasion.

I was looking at a 22" WSM and had a heckuva sticker shock! I paid the same price for my CS as a 22" WSM.... and the CS has electronics and has the look and feel of a commercial cooker.

I'm not slamming the WSM at all... I thought I wanted one until I saw the price... I'm just trying to figure out how that price is justified.

Thank You.

Hi Chuck -

I have only the 18" WSM, and haven't cooked on a Cookshack.

I used to cook on a ECB and I was so frustrated I almost gave up trying to smoke and BBQ.

When I got my Weber WSM, I was amazed at how well I could cook on such a simply designed yet wonderfully conceived and constructed smoker.

I guess what I'm trying to say is in response to your question about why Weber's cost so much - my answer would be "Because they're worth it."

I haven't bought a 22" yet because I have two 18" grills and my cooking partner has another. We can do all four meats on three WSM's and a Weber kettle.

I will eventually get a 22" WSM and when I do, I'm sure I'll be pleased - I like the look and feel of the WSM better than the more boxy "Commercial" smokers, but that's just my opinion.

Pat

They also have a very long life and stand behind their product. It's pretty easy and cheap to throw a burner into a smoker, it won't necesarily make it better (although it could when combined with other features). In the price range I think you'll find the Weber to be about the best deal you can get for a charcoal smoker.

Clark