techniques for a whole chicken on a genesis silver c?

Tony C.

TVWBB Wizard
i've never done a whole bird on the gasser. actually all i ever do on it is hot dogs,brats,burgers, boneless breasts etc. however i find myself out of charcoal and we are moving next weekend so i don't plan to stock up until then so i figure now is the time to learn to cook for real on the gasser.

i figure my 3 options are spatchcock(or halved) over direct med/low heat, beer can in the middle with front and back burners going or just whole laying on its back in the middle with front and back burners on.

i am leaning towards spatchcock but am worried about flare ups. i am not too experienced on the silver C.i have burned a few burgers on this thing. it was given to me by my boss and i have never been a propane man but use it for quick cooks.

edit..

i also plan to throw a cunk of apple on the back vaporizer bar. i do that with breasts and it works good for getting a little smoke flavor.

Tony,I'm the opposite. I can cook up a storm on a gasser,and am learning to use my OTS for other stuff! Just keep the heat kind of medium low,and it should be fine. Let us know how it turns out.

Tony I have the same gasser and have cooked on it for 10 yrs. I have had very good success with beer can rack in the center with front and rear burners a tick above low and center off!

I just use the can rack to hold the bird nothing in it, IMO it adds nothing.

Enjoy!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Glenn W:
Tony I have the same gasser and have cooked on it for 10 yrs. I have had very good success with beer can rack in the center with front and rear burners a tick above low and center off!

I just use the can rack to hold the bird nothing in it, IMO it adds nothing.

Enjoy! </div></BLOCKQUOTE>