Want to move to Washington state - longer post

Tom Wills

TVWBB Member
Hello!
I currently live near Cleveland, OH and I am looking to move. Not in the near future but I want to start thinking about it. I have lived here my entire life and feel like I need a change. I don't mind a little snow but I am tired of being snowed in from November to April. I have always felt attracted to Washington state. I love the greenery and want to become more active outdoors.

I have no idea how to even plan a move to another state or if Washington state is a great place to live. I wondered what you all think. I wanted to be somewhat close to Seattle in case I wanted to see a baseball game every now and then. I am definitely a suburbs kind of guy and do not need a lot of “night life.” I was thinking in between Seattle and Tacoma.

I have a degree in Business Administration and am planning to go to a local community college to get an IT Networking certificate.
My wife has a bachelor’s in Communications. We have a 1 year old son and are considering trying for a second soon.

Our house cost $160K (foreclosure) and now appraised as $210K. It is 1900+ sq ft. 4 bd, 2.5 bath 0.65 acre lot. I would love to live somewhere with homes similar size and price range. I understand Washington is most likely more pricey. Good public schools are important to us.

What do you guys think? What resources should I look into? Are there good companies around for jobs?
Thanks for reading and thanks for any help!

What do you guys think? What resources should I look into? Are there good companies around for jobs? Thanks for reading and thanks for any help!
Washington is expensive and it's always cold there. Back in the late 90's I helped move Levi Straus to Eugene OR