Thermoworks questions

j biesinger

TVWBB Platinum Member
I got serious probe envy after I saw Bill Hayes' thermoworks pistol grip combo ir/probe gun that I've been trolling their site for a couple of months now.

I just checked in and it looks like the ditched the themapen with interchangeable probes for a smaller deal (mtc mini). I was thinking of going this route because (depending on the probe) can work as both an insta-read or wired in oven probe. also the probes couldthen be used with their usb data loggers.

has anybody had any experience with any of these product?

additionally I was thinking of tacking on one or two of the thermoworks $19 oven probes since I've burnt all my maverick probes. any body use these?

I have the older model but, yes, I use several probes, mostly needle (for sous vide), air temp, and surface probes. All are wired type Ks. I don't have the oven probes but could easily see having them in my kit.

Kevin, one of my intended uses is for sous vide applications. I've read about inserting needle probes into the vacuum bag, but I would like to hear a first hand account how one does this with out losing the vacuum or letting water into the bag.

One uses closed cell foam weatherstripping. (Make sure it is closed cell, not open cell; it should say on the package.) 1/4-inch or 1/2 inch wide, either way, adhesive on one side, is what you want.

Cut a small piece, 1/4-inch or 1/2-inch square.

Vac the food into the bag. Stick the foam on the bag near the place you'll probe, usually the thickest part of the item.

Get your waterbath going then insert the needle probe through the foam and into the food; carefully immerse the bag. Plug the probe connector into your readout and you're good to go. You should not lose the vac nor have any leakage as long as you don't remove the probe.

When the food is done and you do remove the probe either consume soon or, if storing, re-vac the bag in another bag, chill in an ice bath, fridge or freeze when cool.