Rub shaker?

Bryan Marriott

TVWBB Member
Hello all. I'm pretty new to this and was wondering if anybody knew of a good shaker for the rub? Either something I could buy or make.

Thank you

Actually I figured out how to search. I am seeing people use parmesan shakers and mason jars.. Any other suggestions for store bought products?

Thanks

Welcome Bryan,

I have a couple of glass shakers, the type that you might see holding dried red pepper. The top has larger holes so you have to watch it. At times I've taped over some of the holes to restrict the rub.

Paul

got a few of these off Amazon. I've been satisfied.

dredges are nice, but I prefer ones with slightly larger holes. And I've found ones that include a plastic lid that caps the whole thing. Make sure to find one that the metal lid screws onto, I can't stand the ones that have the two bumps that you drop and turn onto.

I've fooled around with mason jars some. They are nice because you can store the rub right in the jar (there is an argument against this since I'm often handling it with dirty hands so a secondary container is helpful so you don't foul the whole supply). You can drill some holes in a lid that can be swapped out for an intact lid for storage. They also can be vacuum sealed if you have a food saver with the accessory hose and sealer. And the coolest thing is that mason jars can fit right onto a blender for grinding.

I just use one of those round Ziplock containers that has the screw on lid and I drilled some holes through the plastic lid on one side, It seems to work quite well.

I make my own rub. I buy paprika, chili powder ,cayenne., Lawry's etc in quart plastic shakers &!put my rub in an empty.

I misplaced my shaker container one time and in a pinch I pulled out a spring loaded flour sifter similar to this.