The many ways to cook a steak...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob F.H.

First of all, after reading all the post regarding the Performer and how good it cooks...I hopped in the car and drove to Home Depot and picked one up. I have to say, I am impressed!

I am not an expert on charcoal and would like tips on cooking a mean steak. I usually buy Rib Eye or Center Cut Sirloin and like my meat medium rare to medium. What I did is I started the coals and once they ashed over a bit I moved them to one side and seared the steak and then moved them to the other side to finish them off.

If you have any tips please feel free....thanks!

You've go the idea - now it's just PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE!!!

I experiment with different cuts of steak, using hickory, pecan, oak and mesquite wood chunks mixed in with my charcoal (not at the same time), different charcoals (for grilling I am a huge lump fan - a fan of lump charcoal, not a fan of huge lumps of charcoal, those are kinda irritating).

I also experiment with marinades and rubs (Mr. P's steak seasoning - produced locally here in Birmingham by Charles Piliteri - my favorite butcher - is my favorite).

Mainly, I just grill at every opportunity. It's therapy for me, much cheaper and I get to eat the results.

What color is your Performer?

Pat

Pat,

I have a black performer I just pick-up yesterday. I have had only one cook on it and I love it. I do have another questions, when cooking steaks, as I mentioned above as to the cut and the doneness, i created two zones in my Q, but read a post where you should still have some charcoal on the not so hot side. In other words, have a heap on one side and a thin layer on the rest. Any thoughts?