Hello All

Brian Scott

I'm new here and thought I'd introduce myself. I have been smoking meats for over 20 years and gone through 3 cheapo Brinkman smokers in that time. I've experimented with all kinds and cuts of meat. Even developed my own dry rub recipe.
Since my third Brinkman smoker is on its last legs I have been researching my next smoker. My initial thought was to buy a propane fired rig. Well after many months consideration and hours of reading I finally decided to go with the WSM 18 1/2". Several facts influenced my decision. After looking at the propane fired units in my price range I decided that I couldn't afford a quality propane unit. I am not rich enough to spend a thousand bucks on a smoker. Also many folks said that charcoal makes for the best flavor. Which makes sense to me. The Weber Smokey Mountain seems the best bang for my buck.
My WSM is due to be delivered on Monday and I am jazzed! I plan on doing several of the modifications suggested on this site. To begin with, as I assemble it I'm going to add handles to the center section and also a port for my thermometer probes. My thought is to use threaded lamp "pipe" and rather than drill a new hole for it. I thought I'd use one of the holes used to mount the rack supports. Does anyone see any problems with doing this?
Eventually, probably this spring/summer, I want to build a cart and table combo for the smoker. As most of my yard is lawn and my garage where the smoker'll be stored is detached from the house (meaning the unit will be rolled around the yard before and after use) I'm thinking bigger wheels than small casters will be in order. Any suggestions and advice will be greatly appreciated.
I look forward to being an active member of this forum and hope to make some new and lasting friendships.
Smoke 'em if you got 'em!

As a seasoned food smoker already I`m sure you will be able to do great things on the WSM.. Welcome to the board and post lots of pics of your future smokes.