The Truth About Brining Turkey + Salting Turkey Discussion

Interesting read.

My wife is a fan of brining (as am I) but she tried shoving her head through a windshield Sunday and won't be able to do the turkey this year. I'm going to make a "temporary head of household" decision & try plain salt. If she doesn't like it, I'll take away her crutches. :)

See also Chris's article for a salted butterflied turkey.

I've been salting for a few years and prefer it to brining. Very good results.

Phil, I second Jim's comment. May she heal well and quickly.

Rita

Last edited:
Great article but in my opinion he's doing tests on meat that has been brined for to long. Yes if you brine chicken breast for 24hrs it will get a mushy watery feel and flavour to it but if you brine it for 6-8 hrs the texture of the meat doesn't noticeably change and it will be juicier. For a large turkey I only brine for 18-24hrs, I would never leave it in for 2days as he says.

He is also making it sound like its a big production to brine. The apple brine recipe takes up about 30 minutes of my time to prepare, it's easy to get a bucket big enough to brine in and most guys I know have a beer fridge they keep just above freezing which is perfect to throw the bucket with the turkey in.

Interesting - I recently did the apple brined turkey (rotisserie style on my Weber OTG) test run and liked the results. I used cider in my brine. I thought I could detect an apple flavor in the meat but that could have been the apple wood smoke I used or maybe I was just fooling myself - (my wife detected no apple flavor). I like the explanations provided in the article (science - it's what's for dinner) and may try the salting approach for my upcoming TG rotisserie bird. It would certainly cut down on the prep effort...

A couple of questions:
  1. It is hard to tell how much salt was used from the discussion. Can anyone provide a better measure?