Gonna smoke a turkey breast this weekend but I have a few questions...

TeddyC

Hey all I need advice to see if I'm on the right track or not.

I'm 2 smokes into my WSM. This weekend I want to smoke a 6.5lbs turkey breast. Historically, I've always used a Masterbuilt smoker, so I'm new to the WSM world.

I plan on brinning the breast overnight (for 12 hours or so) and then letting it sit for day in the fridge.

On the day of the smoke, I'm not sure if I want to use a paprika type rub on the breast or simply use butter, pepper, garlic and Tony C's.

I plan on using 2 chimney's of charcoal and 2 - 3 chunks of apple wood.

I plan on keeping all grates open to grill the bird at a high temperature.

Here's where I'm confused. In order to keep the bird moist, should I grill it to a certain internal temperature and then foil the bird and let it continue cooking? Or, should I just let it cook all the way to a certain internal temperature (I'm thinking 160 degrees).

Finally, to keep the meat moist for several hours, should I foil the breast and then keep it in a cooler?

Thank you for your assistance.

Here's where I'm confused. In order to keep the bird moist, should I grill it to a certain internal temperature and then foil the bird and let it continue cooking? Or, should I just let it cook all the way to a certain internal temperature (I'm thinking 160 degrees).

Finally, to keep the meat moist for several hours, should I foil the breast and then keep it in a cooler?

Hey TeddyC, cook to "done" temp. If you're brining her you'll have no issues with moisture. When she's done then foil her, wrapper her in a towel and throw her in a towel lined cooler. I assume you're doing this for transport, correct? How long will you be holding her for?

Thanks for the reply. I have church services from 1 - 3. So I prefer to smoke either early in the am or during services. The problem with foiling is, I'll loose the crispy skin. I don't think foiling is the best route to take .

Hey Ted,