Oversmoked

Tom McKenzie

I have recently completed a mini WSM build using WSJG. Have done two cooks(2 pork tenderloins and 1 butt), both of which yielded oversmoked meat. Used Stubbs briquettes and 3 2"x2"x1" pieces of hickory buried within charcoal on both occasions. Started fire with 7 lit bricquets placed in center of full basket. Cooked in 240-250 range. I have never used Stubbs before - is it inherently "smokier" than Kingsford or am I using too much wood. It was interesting that hickory was smoldering before adjacent briquettes had lit.

Last edited:
Glen, I'm thinking I may try that next time. Like the Stubbs. I got a 11 1/2 hour burn out of one basketful.

Tom I just notice you are new to the forum...I would like to say welcome and you can learn a lot here. Yea I like my Stubbs briqs ...I do mix it somtimes with Royal Oak lump.I am not a really heavy smoke fan.

Wow 11 1/2 hour burn.....now thats impressive....give us some details.

Last edited:
I have recently completed a mini WSM build using WSJG. Have done two cooks(2 pork tenderloins and 1 butt), both of which yielded oversmoked meat. Used Stubbs briquettes and 3 2"x2"x1" pieces of hickory buried within charcoal on both occasions. Started fire with 7 lit bricquets placed in center of full basket. Cooked in 240-250 range. I have never used Stubbs before - is it inherently "smokier" than Kingsford or am I using too much wood. It was interesting that hickory was smoldering before adjacent briquettes had lit.

I like Stubb's as well when using briquettes. I have not cooked on my mini WSM yet....but now I now not to use chunks with it. Thx!

Thanks Glen,