I Met Myron Mixon Friday

Alan F

TVWBB Pro
I'm new to bbq and just got my first smoker a few weeks ago. BBQ Pitmasters, along with sites like this one have been educational to say the least.

Some friends and I went to a small bbq competition in Bel Air, MD Friday night seeking brisket- the first comp I've attended. I walk 20 steps into the festival and look to my right, there's a black pop up canopy and Myron Mixon is talking to a few people. I was stunned, and slightly intimidated at the thought of speaking to him. We walked around a bit, ate some bad food, and then we went back and I just walked up and said hello, that I was a fan. I slightly braced myself in case he went off on me.

He could not have been nicer. We talked about why he was there (a friend cooking brought him up there and he was cooking. His first time in MD), the TV show, peach wood, the cast of Pitmasters, etc. I got the feeling he would have talked for as long as I wanted, I was trying to not push too hard for information. I've thought about taking his class and he mentioned the spring and fall classes are the best to attend. He patiently posed for pictures. He'll definitely tell you what he's thinking, but he was easy going and a pleasure. I'm impressed. He said Tuffy was there but I couldn't find him anywhere.

BTW, we got bbq from the vendor with the longest line in the festival. The pork was dry, the ribs over cooked...but I swear the brisket was chuck roast. That was very disappointing. But meeting Myron made my night.

Wow Alan, pretty cool. I would have been intimidated also, thinking he would go off also, especially with answering questions. I could not see the YouTube on my iPad, maybe just me. I will try to check it out on my regular computer.