Lump Coal?

Status
Not open for further replies.

M_Kuharious

Ok guys and gals, I bought a bunch of lump at HD this weekend(had it on sale). I have never used lump before. Does lump coal produce more ash than regular charcoal? There seemed to be ashes flying everywhere. It think I did a good job keeping it off the food, but is this normal or did I buy cheap lump?

M,
Lump will generally create far less ash than briquettes. However, some lump (you didn't indicate brand) "pops" a lot during the lighting process. I have read the Kingsford CharWood does this.
If lighting the lump in a chimney, newspaper will create a lot of ash. If this was the source, try soaking a paper towel in vegetable oil and using it to light the chimney. No ash that way.

Double check and make sure it is lump and not briquette. I bought the 2.99 special at HD and that is briquette and had the same problem you describe; ashes flying all over.

I was thinking of swinging by HD on the way home today and picking up a few bags of this sale charcoal. Based on what I'm reading I may change myu mind. Based on the preformance you've experience would you recommend picking up a couple bags or not? I'll more than likely using on my Performer vs. the WSM.

Thanks in advance.

Larry R. Fresno, CA

WSM
Weber Genesis 1000
22 1/2 Performer w/Touch-N-Go

Rats it is the briquettes. I guess i do not know the difference in lump and briquettes. I thought the bag said lump. I will have to check the bag when I get home. Rats.

Originally posted by LarryR:
I was thinking of swinging by HD on the way home today and picking up a few bags of this sale charcoal. Based on what I'm reading I may change myu mind. Based on the preformance you've experience would you recommend picking up a couple bags or not? I'll more than likely using on my Performer vs. the WSM.

Thanks in advance.QUOTE]