sausages

Geir Widar

TVWBB Wizard
I'm not sure if this post belongs here, or in the "post pictures of your food", but I chose this forum. Please move if needed.

Now, it's before Christmas here in Norway, freezing cold, colder than usual, today we're talking -4 degrees. WSM at full pelt.
110625_s.jpg

Fullversjon: http://sportsfiske.nu/foto/arkiv/44632/110625.jpg

Smoking at 150 degrees.
110626_s.jpg

Fullversjon: http://sportsfiske.nu/foto/arkiv/44632/110626.jpg

The pork belly is cheap, and it's the perfect time to make sausages. I'm still learning, I made three batches, two were very nice, and the third one was OK, edible, but could have been better. There is so much to learn, and so many possible mistakes to make!
Well, since I at the moment have the biggest freezer in the world right outside, it was easy to keep the grinder, bowls and meat very cold.
I used three recipes, one based on the basic "charcuterie"- book, salt, pepper and so on, and added garlic and basil. Very nice. I also used the Jacktwürst- recipe, and since I have tasted the result- that’s a keeper!

110627_s.jpg

Fullversjon: http://sportsfiske.nu/foto/arkiv/44632/110627.jpg

Jacktwürst to the right.
On to the problem. I mixed the other two meats yesterday, leaving them in the fridge overnight. I realized that I had about 5 meters of spare casing, so I thawed some moose meat, bought some pork fat, and made up some moose sausages.

Salt, juniper berries, chrushed pepper, chrushed rose peppers, mustard seeds, and fresh unions.
110623_s.jpg

Fullversjon: http://sportsfiske.nu/foto/arkiv/44632/110623.jpg

The taste is good, but I’m not impressed at all with the structure. I think you can see the "structure- problem in the picture. I kept the meat cold, as well as the grinder, the bowls and so on. Or so I think.

110628_s.jpg