odd differences in temprature readings between my digiQ-II and my ET-73

Tom Raveret

TVWBB Pro
I'm into my fourth cook with my new DigiQ II and I love it. I'm still learning some of the nuances of it but it is such a well designed piece of equipment and great features. ( i expecially like the nice nights sleep I'm getting)

So I'm using it under extreme conditions. We have quite a cold streak going the cook last saturday night was in -30 for windchill and tonight I threw two butts in and the windchill is expected to be -25. No low temprature problems to report- seems to work like a champ in the cold.

I've been experiencing a variance in temprature readings from the digiQ pit probe and the Maverick et-73 pit probe that have me perplexed.

This is inconsistent so I'm struggling to figure out whats going on.

Heres what I'm using: A brand new WSM (I figured I should install the DigiQ II on the new WSM I've kept sitting in the Garage for the last year) a new DigiQ-II and a new ET-73

I installed two eyelets for the DigiQ probes
the ET-73 probe I ran under the lid for my first cook but since that cook I ran the pit probe for the et-73 down the top vent. I was only using the et-73 to remotely observe the pit temp so I didn't install a food probe.

Last sunday after I took the Brisket off I refueled and removed the food probe from the DigiQ II and restarted it and made some ribs for the Packers game. I placed the digi-q temp probe on the grill in the ET-73 spring loaded clip (I couldn't find the aligator clip. The et-73 i then wired through the eyelet I was no longer needing for the food probe.

The heads of both probes were within an inch of each other consistently throughout the cook the Maverick ET-73 read 40 degrees higher than the Digi-Q.