Stoker or DigiQ II

Mikey NY

TVWBB Member
OK I am new to smoking and have only 1 smoke on my WSM with some mods. My question is do I go with the stoker or the DigiQ II and is a 5 cfm fan enough?

Lots of threads to help you out here. Just look around
icon_smile.gif

For now, here is a two cent summary. If all you want is to set a temprature and have it hold, they both do the job but the Guru is probably easier to configure and use by a bit.

If on the other hand, you want to see how your cook is doing from anywhere, using a PC, your phone, work computer, etc. then stoker is the only game in town. You can do cool things like having your PC play some music if the fire goes out in the middle of the night for example, or the food becomes ready sooner than you thought.

You can also completely control your smoker from inside of your house. In winter time when it is wet or cold here, I sit inside, monitor the cook and am able to for example increase the temp if it is taking too long for the food to become ready. Or see if the temp is oscilating telling me the fire may be close to going out.

Using the graphing capability of stokerlog (program I wrote to control the stoker) you have a full log of how your 16 hour smoking session has gone. It tells you a lot about how your unit and smoker are working. You can show it to people and ask what they think of it. Save temprature settings for future cooks, etc.

The stoker probes are also very nicely designed in that you can extend them easily without impacting accuracy.

Since a lot of the intelligence in the system comes from the program I wrote, the system can keep getting better over time, wehereas a box like Guru will have the same features it does now, a few years from now.