Which to buy NEW - 2820 or 721001?

Carl Robb

I am a newbie who had been researching the purchase of my first smoker. I have settled on the WSM 18in, but have a question I haven't explicitly seen answered anywhere in the forums here.

The 2820 is still available on the Internet for prices in the range of $224 while the 721001 can be had for $299 -- both with free shipping.

Is the 721001 worth the extra money. I have compared the features and have valued them as follows.

It seems like the thermometer is a plus. I could find and install my own, but that isn't as convenient. Ditto for the larger water pan. Maybe an easier mod, but still one more thing that needs to be done. The heat shield is nice to have if only to keep ashes off the patio and the improved door seems good too. I am not sure the stronger legs or improved charcoal grate (if there is one) are that big a deal.

Overall, my assessment is that the 721001 is probably priced at an effective $25 premium over the 2820 plus some intangibles once you buy a water pan and thermometer. Even though I don't plan on selling it, it seems the resale value of the newer model would be at least a tad higher than the 2820 so in the long run maybe they are a wash -- which would lead me to buy the newer model.

That is my assessment. I am interested in what those with experience think.

the larger water pan is not a plus in my books, I don't use water most times, but if you live somewhere it's useful to you it would be a plus

if you intend on buying a remote therm, you will likely be watching grate temps making the hard mount lid therm practically useless, but still a nice to have

the heat shield won't keep ashes off the patio, the biggest cause of ash for me is chimney lighting and dumping, then sometimes ash coming out of the bottom vent holes

resale? seriously??

access door improvements, sturdier legs and improved water pan seating is worthwhile

I think either is a good choice