Juicy Ribs Is it Possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeff lowe

TVWBB Super Fan
I am a newbie here and was wondering if it is possible to cook ribs and they come out real juicy. What mehods would I have to use?

Hey Jeff:

I'm not going to weigh in on this with an answer (I'll let the B-B-Q circuit boys do that), but instead with the question; what type of ribs are you referring to? Baby Backs, Spare Ribs (or is it St. Louis Ribs?).

I just wanted to clarify the question, cause I'm wondering too!

Weber Dave

Well I guess it must be baby backs because when I cooked them before in the oven they came out really juicy. In the asian restaurants the spares seem to come out kind of juicy also.

Jeff
Your talking different styles with different results. Ribs done correctly will be moist and taste will be great.
If your looking for juicy then you need to cook in an enclosed in foil or in a pan of liquid, not BBQ, but can be very good.
BBQ babybacks are also outstanding, done correctly.
Jim

Thanks Jim! Before I started BBQing I cooked my ribs in an oven pan with a mixture of soy sauce, hoisin, garlic, hotsauce, 5 spice powder, vinegar and ketchup for maybe an hour and then grilled them afterward. They came out really juicy inside and crisp outside.
I found a link here about this guy in Texas that cooks his ribs in foil. Tell me what you think.
http://www.dallasbbq.com/ribs%20recipe.htm

Good afternoon Jeff: