Thermometer recommendation

J. Todd

I'm looking for a probe type thermometer that basically just let's me know the temperature. Want to use it for internal meat temps, as well as grill temps, so I guess the range would have to be 100ºF - 400ºF or so. Tried a Taylor 'Weekend Warrior' I saw at Lowe's, but it was kinda confusing to work, and wouldn't go over ~ 200ºF. More of a meat thermometer / timer combination. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

i've been using this one for 2 years with little to no complaints. the signal distance is kind of iffy, but i always keep it in a room that's close to the cooker. the alarm will alert me when needed. this link is TVWBB friendly if you decide to order from amazon
icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.amazon.com/Maverick-Industries-Remote-Smoker...id=1227738110&sr=8-1

Or you could consider investing in a temprature control system that serves both the function of a thermomether and temprature control (guru/stoker) I really love my guru and there are plenty of advocates for the stoker as well.

How much do you want to spend?

At the high end you can get a GURU/Stoker for around $250

At the low end a $15 probe thermometer can measure temperature in your meat. Stick it down one of the vents and you will know your BBQ temperature.

The next level up is wire connected to the measuring probe so you do not have to open the WSM and then after that is one with a wireless connection. With wireless, you can tell the temperature of your meat/WSM in front of your television.

Two popular wireless are the Nu-temp and Maverick. Get two of them and you can measure both (meat/WSM) at the same time.

For instant temperature read out you can get a Thermapen.

Some details on some of the above mentioned are here.

Maybe get an inexpensive one with a wired probe. After it breaks, you'll have experience it terms of what you might want next.