What do I do? Season the Grill? Other tips for First timer?

NicholasC

Hi,

I am new to cooking & have little knowledge about BBQ's. I recently purchased a Q300 and am trying to learn what I need to do to maintain it? I have heard that I need to season the grill, however I have no idea what is required to season it? I have read on this forum about using a heat sheet. Do you use it for all cooking or only for items that are more likely to stick? I would appreciate any assistance you could give!

A bit of background to help people understand how much I do not know - I am barred from cooking in the family kitchen due to my poor record. Having said that the Q300 has allowed me to be able to cook - only the very basic so far - Steak, sausages, bacon, eggs & BBQ chicken complete with vegies.

Thank you,

Nicholas

first is to keep the grates oiled. do not clean them after a cook but rather just before a cook when they are good and hot. otherwise my advice is to practice. you can't learn unless you make mistakes. and read everything here that you can. enjoy !

Befor I fired up my Q I sprayed the grates heavy with Pam vegetable oil . and let it burn a half hr or so and let it cool down. And respray it befor and after every cook . after a few grease cooks the grates a season right up .

I burn mine off after a cook for 10 or 15 minutes or so clean it with a brass bbq brush and then after it cools I spray it with oil Pam keeps the grates perfect NO RUST ! Then when I go to cook again I spray a little more on it fire it up with the lid closed for about 10 minutes and your ready to cook . just keep repeating the above steps clean spray burn off and it a season up great after just a few cooks .Instead of Pam use can just put some oil on a papper towel and wipe the grates does just as good a job IMO .