Grilling on the deck

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian Farley

Hey Everyone!

I've got a weber performer coming to my door soon, and i can't be any more exciting, i'm even having dreams about it. i've had a OTG for about 2 years now, and am really looking forward to the added convenience.

My hope is that i'll be able to grill (safely) with the performer on my wooden 2nd story deck. i've been using my otg on the ground level (i live in a raised ranch) mainly at the urging of my wife.

Do any of you use your charcoal grills on a wooden deck? i've been looking at the grillpad, does anyone have any expierence with those? i noticed that the standard sized grillpad is smaller than the dimensions of the performer.

man, i hope my performer gets here soon, i can't wait anymore! my daughter's 3rd birthday party is this saturday, and i can't wait to show it off.

thanks!
Brian

I've been grilling on my deck for over ten years and never had a fire, but I watch it closely. It has lots of grease spots and burn spots though. I've had pieces of lump fall out of the chimney and burn the wood, but never had a fire. If you want to keep your deck clean and burn mark free, I'd use a grill pad.

Hi Brian.

Personally, I have in the past but don't any longer. Here's a link to a thread with totally opposite views that were posted just a month or so ago. You can also do a search by clicking on the "Find" button up top and find tons of responses to this same question.

Welcome to TVWB.
icon_cool.gif

Bill

I use my OTG on my deck and have added a pad to catch errant sparks and things from burning the surface. When grilling just use common sense and keep the proper safety equipment handy (fire extinguisher) and you should be ok.

Brian