Think I forgot a Basic Move in all the Excitement of a First WSM Cook...

Jack Henry

TVWBB Member
First, thanks to all for the great discussions on these boards. Have really learned a lot. I've been cooking with sub-par equipment for a couple of years now, and made the WSM investment about two weeks ago.

First cook was baby backs. Around 35 degrees with light snow today, no wind. Smoker ran well. Didn't use water. Used (I think) a standard method for lighting the fuel (full unlit chimney with three pieces of apple wood, covered by 3/4 lit with a fat piece of cherry). Smoker ran around 230-250 for three hours at the lid, I foiled them for an hour, and the put them on for about another 45 minutes, sauced and pulled them after another half hour.

Ribs were just to my liking. Nice meaty texture, not falling off the bone, but a bit of snap. Good smoke ring and taste was fantastic. I'm really impressed by the way the WSM holds a temp!

Problem was, as you may see from the pic (which is really blurry, sorry), the bottom was totally charred! I usually use a rack, and maybe that was the problem, but I think I also should have thought enough to flip the **** things to meat side down at some point... Right?

Here's the pic if it works:
http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/6710/1000538.jpg

So, flip? Rack? Less sugar in the rub?

Thanks!

I'd guess that it's the sugar in the rub. However, you said you didn't use water. Did you use the pan? I use the clay saucer so it provides a heat shield (indirect cooking). If you didn't use a pan, that may be why the ribs were darker than you would have liked. At a minimum, if I didn't use water I would use the pan and I would foil the pan leaving a small gap (air gap) between the bottom of the pan and the foil. This would buffer the heat coming up from the coals.

Hi Jerry,

Yes, had a foiled pan in there. Didn't try the air pocket that makes sense. I'm going to track down the clay saucer you mentioned this week.