BBQ Liner

Neil McLean

Hi, I am new at all this so please go easy on me.

I have just ordered a Weber Q220 Plus.

I am wanting to cook the odd fried egg and onions.

I have been told by a person with a Q220 that I can use a BBQ liner/mat to cover the grill to make a flat surface.

My problem is that there is a warning on the liner website that they can not be used over direct flame.

Not having used my Q220 as yet, I really don't know if the flame actually gets as high or higher than the grill plate.

Is anyone using one of these liners?

Can they be used without problems?

If not, how do you mob cook eggs and onions on the Q220?

Sorry if this has been discussed before, I did a search and was unable to find anything.

Here is a link to the liner I am talking about.
http://www.oztion.com.au/vshops/vshops.aspx?shopid=2915

I just phoned Weber and they said it's best to use a breakfast plate and put the liner on the plate.

To allow me to still use the grill, Weber suggested a Baby Q breakfast plate as that will leave half the grill free.

I also bought the Q Tools set that fit under one of the side bits.

EDIT: I have no connection with the liner web site, all I have done is to buy a liner from them.

G'Day Neil

I am located in Melbourne and demo for Weber of a Saturday between Sept and Dec each year. I have had a Q200/220 for four or so years.
Don't tell Weber but I use a grill mat as do many of my friends who also own Q's.
It is great for grilling hamburgers, chicken, onions, vegetables, fish, prawns etc.
It works and it works well. For doing eggs get a cheap muffin tray and cut it so that you have a 4 hole tray and a 2 hole tray. Chuck a bit of oil in it and slosh it around, break the eggs into the one you want to use and put it on, close the lid it will take about 2 1/2 minutes or so to cook the eggs.