Casing question

jim_b

I see that the hog casings are listed as edible ( along with others) but being the sausage noob , I am still not 100% sure. Do you eat them all the time , only on certain sausages , or mostly remove them? Thanks for not laughing out loud!!

yes, you eat them.

the come packed in salt and require rinsing and soaking. I like to soak them for a least an hour, I had tenderness issues once when I used them immediately after rinsing.

The casing will brown and provide a pleasing snap when cutting and eating.

Well as J said,and im a sausage making noob (1 try) but dont be afraid to soak them long(5h) before stuffing. And another tip is to keep everything as coold as possible during the making!

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Do you eat them all the time , </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
The confusion I think stems from the fact that not all sausage is made in edible casings. For those that are, yes, one eats them in most cases. Sausages that are cooked (either before or after purchase (hot dogs, bratwurst, Italian sausage, kielbasa, et al.) are made with edible casings. Those that re purchased or made fresh (uncooked) can be squeezed out of their casings when desired, and cooked loosely or formed into patties, mixed with other ingredients for stuffings, etc., before cooking.

There are sausages made in inedible casings. Many of these are cured, dried sausages. The casing is meant to be removed before eating.

Second all of the above. Another tip: If you have a local butcher who makes his/her own fresh sausage, ask when the next batch will be made. If you come back that day, you may be able to get the casing already rinsed and soaked, saving a couple hours, at least.

I get my hog casings from the butcher at the local Whole F****s, who tends to turn over enough sausage daily that I can almost always get an already-rinsed/soaked casing.