Assistance on my first attempt

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

My plan is to do a Turkey breast and a Pork Butt.

My guess is that the pork should go on the top rack due to the longer cooking time.

What effect would the drippings from the Butt have on the turkey ? Or should I just blow it off and make her eat the butt and smoke the turkey another time ?

If I were to do both , my plan would be to use 3-4 hunks of oak with one hickory and one cherry....any ideas on this ?

As a novice, any advice is appreciated.

Steve in Mpls

Hey Steve;
You should put the butt on the bottom rack. Otherwise with the turkey on the bottom you have to remove the top rack completly to get at the turkey. you will lose alot of heat and therfore extend the cooking time for both butt/turkey. with the turkey on top you simply remove the whole rack when the turkey is done giving you access to your butt.
I'm no pro but I would go with a mix of oak/cherry.
Good Cookin
Dan

Steve,

I would time each cut of meat so they come off together. The butt will take around 9 hours(a guess) and not sure on the turkey because of size.

If they both come off at the same time it really doesn't matter which grill you put them on. To mop the lower meat, get a turkey baster and simply apply between the grates! That way you don't have to lift anything to mop!

As far as wood, personal choice. I use only apple and oak as I have those trees in my yard. I truly believe MOST people couldn't tell the difference between wood smokes, except Mesquite, which I refuse to use!

Let us know what happens!!

Stogie

Thanks for the info. Sounds like the butts going on the bottom.

Hey , Stogie , I'll be smokin' an Excalibur #1 as I "tend the fire"....Natural not Maduro.

I'll let you guys know what happens.

Steve ______________
______________)))))~~~~~~~

Steve,