Newbie - Just got my WSM 18", but a problem

Gary Zath

Ordered through Lowes and it came in a week early
icon_smile.gif

As I was setting it up I noticed that one of the grates was not plated ... okay, that must be the lower charcoal grate. Problem was, it's 18" in diameter and does not fit
icon_eek.gif

Thinking "I just don't get it" I try all different types of configurations to no avail. Okay, I'm an Architect, I can frigur dis out. Nope ... notta. It's clearly an error on Weber's part.

So, I bite the bullet (not the Weber!), grab a beer and pull up the customer service phone number dreading the call ... too many Dish Network cust service calls to "Joe" who is clearly Sandeep from the Punjab region of India.

Anyway, 5 minute hold produces Jessica. I explain my problem, she apologizes and tells me that a 15" charcoal grate is going to be FedExed to me, 2 day service.
icon_biggrin.gif

Weber, you just recruited a lifelong promoter ... and I haven't even done my first smoke! Yes, they screwed up, but rectified it with NO hassle.

FYI, I have a 6# brisket screaming to be my first smoke. Regardless of receiving the replacement, I'll find a way to get a temporary char grate worked out.

FYI2, Jessica mentioned if I knew about this site (which I have been studying since I ordered my smoker 2 weeks ago) so, even Weber's got your back here.