First Turkey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve Gorman

I'm planning a turkey on my new Bullet for Christmas. I'm nervous. I have 20+ years experience with Brinkman. All the turkey suggestions are brined turkey. I've have brined turkey. I perfer straight smoke for 10 to 12 hours for a 20-21 lb'er. with apple chunks.

Must I brine? Any suggestions as to fuel, water, time etc?

Happy Holidays,

Steve

Steve, we had a discussion in the beginners board about bigger verses ssmaller birds. Or see the topic on the main board on the left side - Birds, great and small. The concenus was that birds that large carry a higher potential for turning bad as you bring them up to temp unless you brine them or otherwise treat them. Look that over and see what the old hands have to say. Have you ever done one that way before?

You want a cure in the brine (ie:Tender Quick) to slow the growth of bactria. The internal temp needs to get to at least 140*
in 4 hours or less or you need to use the cure in the brine.
Pit temps can run higher for poultry than you would cook beef or pork. the brine will keep it moist.
Apple or cherry are fine, water in waterpan,
and I'd cook at 325* till I get 180* in the
thigh.
Jim

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Jim Minion:
You want a cure in the brine (ie:Tender Quick) to slow the growth of bactria. The internal temp needs to get to at least 140*
Pit temps can run higher for poultry than you would cook beef or pork. the brine will keep it moist.
thigh.
Jim
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Jim,