Weber Smoker

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

I have been using a basic water smoker for about 3 years now. Love the results, hate the amount of work needed to cook briskets or pork shoulders. I am asking for some advice on if the Weber would make this job somewat easier before I put out some money to purchase one.

For me to make a pork shoulder, I have to start up the chimmey starter 3-4 times to add more charcoal, have to get rid of all the ashes that keep building up on the bottom of the charcoal pan and therefore clogging the airflow and just in general, too much work.

I believe in everything I have read on this site and know that Weber makes quality products (have a Weber Genesis 1000 that is going on year #8 or 9)but want to hear first hand from others on how they compare the Weber smoker to the other Brinkmanns, CharBroils etc... that are out there.

Also, can the wber be placed on a wooded deck while cooking or would the legs generate too much heat?

Thanks for the help, I'm looking forward to getting a better smoker without having to purchase an offset fire box type.

Mark W

Hi Mark,

While Im only on my second cook as we speak with a WSM,i have used a Brinkman for over 15 years,and while i will never throw my ole' Brinkman out,as it has served me well,you are comparing Geo's to Cadillacs here brother.

If you MUST cook on a deck,please use 4 18" patio bricks,or better still,fire bricks under the unit.

Spend the duce,you wont be dissapointed!

best wishes,
Theo B.

Mark
The difference in using a WSM is a 10-11 pound load of charcoal should be all you need for brisket or pork butt. The temp control is 1000% better, you will need to
check the water pan every 3 to 4 hours but
this cooker is as good as advertised.
Read Chris's site for fireup methods and tech
and you will enjoy Q'n even more than before.
Jim

Hi Mark,