RV'ing with Weber Q220

Chris B

TVWBB Member
I am new to RV'ing and kind of a rookie when it comes to grilling. I have been using the WSM for a few years now with great success with Pork Butts, Turkey, and Ribs. I also have Weber Kettle that I use mainly for rotissere chicken that comes out great too (at least that's what the family says). But when it comes to grilling over gas I tend to just use it for hot dogs and hamburgers.

I guess I was wondering what people would recommend trying to grill on a 220 for a family of five on a weekend RV trip. Being that space is limited what are some of the things that people recommend stocking in the RV frig? What type of things would you prepare beforehand? I don't think you could indirectly cook in the 220 very effectively, but then again I haven't tried it. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

The Q-220 is NOT made for indirect, if thats what you're looking for the Q-300 would work out better. I have done every thing from 2" thick steaks and chops to good size salmon steaks and fillets on a Q-200, not to mention countless numbers of vegies.

My advice? Do what you can ahead of time. Steaks and Fillets can be rubed and marinated ahead of time and frozen. Vegies can be marinated in things like Italian dressing, or brown sugar and butter, and kept in the fridge for about a week. Everything else? Grill seasoning or salt & pepper to taste.

Joe,
Whilst the Q220 may not have been designed specifically for indirect cooking, it can be achieved easily. I have been cooking both direct and indirect on my Q200 for 3 about years. I use a variety of methods. The aim is to create a reflective barrier and an air gap between the food and the burner. The main method that I use is by using the roasting trivet, though I have not been able to locate it on the US Weber site it is on the Australian site Here and go to the Q accessories -