Re-using Charcoal and Wood Remains

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

In an effort to be frugal (some might say cheap!), I have been sifting through the remains of the charcoal and woods used after every smoking and have been re-using the larger remaining pieces. I would appreciate a response from anyone with any information or thoughts concerning this practice especially since my wife has asked that I please ask the experts so as not to accidentally poison her children!

As far as I know, there is no problem associated with this practice. I've heard of quite a few folks who do it.

Regards,
Chris

John,

Whenever I use the WSM, I FILL the charcoal ring....any coals that are left after the cook, I just let them sit in the charcoal ring until the next cook...

Been doing that for several years.....and I'm still here!!!

Stogie

John,
I have been reusing charcoal from my Weber kettle for about 20 years and as Stogie said: I'm still here. Though the hair is grayer but I can't link that to the gray ash of charcoal.

Brian

I reuse mine. I think I'm still here. Reminds me of a dog I had years ago. I would go out mushroom hunting and all I knew that were safe was morels. Somebody told me you could eat puffballs also. So I went out to the woods and got me a couple. Well the wife wasn't sure if they was safe to eat or not so I fried up some and fed em to the dog. I waited a couple of hours and the dog never got sick so I fried up the rest and ate em myself. Never got the least bit sick, but didn't really care for em that much. I tried to get the dog to sniff out them morels as I can't find em to good. But all that damn dog would do is point out puffballs! and a blind man could see those big things.
Good Smokin'
Dan