DIY Auto Temp Control

Ken Harrod

Hello, I have been checking out this site for a couple years. It has been very informational and has helped me out a lot.

I did some searching on the internet about Automatic Temperature Control Systems to see if there were any DIY kits out there or other options. I found one, that I did not find talked about on here.

Circuit Celler DIY Temp Control

The system seems simple enough to build (assuming you have soldering experience). The processor for the circuit can be found for less than $5. I priced out all the circuit components and it was under $40. I did not check the price on the housing, switch, thermocouples. I would guess the total price would end up being less than $100. The guy posted the code for the processor also, and there are various compilers out there for free that will compile it.

Has anyone tried building this device? Any comments?

I think it might end up being a winter project for me. Maybe not as refined as the commercial units, but I am not that refined either.
icon_smile.gif

Seems like a pretty reasonable design although I don't believe his measurement graph. There is no way one gets a ruler flat stability like he is showing.

As for comments, it is hard to come ahead cost wise if you consider your time to build and debug this. And consider that it does a lot less than stoker.

The flat line temperature for his cooker is surprising to me, too. I figure a big part of that is due to the better insulating properties of his ceramic cooker. Then again, I have seen pretty constant temps on my WSM and I do not have any form of automatic temperature control, yet.