What's the average install time for a Digiq II?

G

Hey Guys!

Long time lurker, not quite first time poster (although my credentials from the pre-infopop discussion forum are long gone).

I decided to ante up and get a temp control system for the Super Bowl party this weekend, and I'm anxiously awaiting my Digiq II's arrival tomorrow.

Unfortunately, I've got a crazy weekend lined up. To get a jump on everything, I figured I'd try and get whatever I need ready to install that bad boy, and figure out what the time I'll need to set aside is.

Has anyone here installed it on their WSM? If so, how long should I expect it to take, and what kind of tools are we talking about (flux capacitor, impact hammer
icon_wink.gif

Thanks in advance,
-John

I have no experience with your grill or the temp control system but this is the Internet and opinions can be offered without any experiene whatsoever
icon_biggrin.gif

On my side, I got a stoker to go with my ceramic smoker and there was zero set-up time required. The blower slid in place of where the draft door was and that was it. No tools were required of any kind.

The thing you need to plan for is a bit of play time to learn to use the unit. So get something easy to cook and do a cook with that to get used to how the machine works, the impact of vents, etc. I did a chicken for my first test and that gave me the confidence to do anything after that.

Amir-

The techie side of me says go with something basic for the first run, to make sure the thing works without killing any good cuts of meat.

The hungry side of me is just sitting there with a pitchfork going 'do it! do it! make a brisket!'.

Alas, if only the hungry side of me would lose out every now and then, I wouldn't have to hit the gym so often
icon_frown.gif

Hey John - DigiII setup and go is pretty simple. I would say 30 minutes or so. It has menu instructions etched on the back of the unit. Depends on how intuitive you are, but straight forward.

John,