Introduction & some questions

D Thomas

Hi all,

I am new to the forum so I'd like to say hello to all and introduce myself, also I'm new to Charcuterie though pretty keen to learn I've made fresh sausages and am having a go at Beef Braeseola, and thinking of haveing a go at making Bacon soon.Then Salami and when some books I ordered finally arrive I'm sure the list will grow quite quickly.
which brings me to I am from Australia and some names of ingredients are different what is Kocher salt? is it rock salt or sea salt?
Maple Sugar I'm not sure if it is available here and would Bromn sugar be an ok substitute?

Regards

Dave

Welcome Dave!

Here's a good link that covers the most common salts most of us use. There are many salts out there, but this is a good starting point. Kosher salt is just a flatter style, as opposed to the more cubicle crystal style found in ordinary table salt. Kosher salt also doesn't contain iodine which is the primary reason I use it. I don't like the metallic off-flavor or iodized salt.

Maple syrup is a sugar product produced from maple trees typically growing in the northern parts of the US and southern Canada. It has a unique flavor but is not mandatory for most recipes.

You'll find that most recipes can be adjusted to the ingredients you have on hand or prefer.

Dealing specifically with sausages, I have found this site to be very helpful.

Good luck and keep the questions coming!

Paul

if you get confused about salts just use weight. Kosher salt can be vastly more voluminous than table salt (or less than coarse sea salt) however if you have pure NaCl (without iodine or other additives like Paul says) you can trust that one gram of kosher salt will be as salty as one gram of sea salt or one gram of table salt.

Maple sugar is essentially dehydrated maple syrup. I'd be surprised if maple syrup isn't commoditized enough to find some down under. Brown sugar is flavored with molasses so it's a different flavor, although similar.